Your Fears and How to Own Them!

Fearing the Public?

Fear, fear is common and everyone has something they fear. You may fear speaking in front of a crowded room. You could also be like me and have a giant fear of clowns. Whatever your fear is, you truly are not alone in having that fear.

One fear that is common is the fear of speaking in public. Why? Because people fear rejection and looking like an idiot in front of their peers. This is a very reasonable fear. No one wants to look like a fool in front of prospects, peers, teachers, etc. It’s also one of the hardest fears to overcome.

A little bit about my fear world to help hammer home some points. Personally I never fear going in public and talking to anyone. Giving speeches to me is easy. My biggest fear is my giant paranoia at night, even with two dogs, I still fear the night. I took a lot of steps to try to beat it and that never worked. Instead I started embracing my fear. Sounds crazy right? Why would someone would ever embrace their fears?

Hard as it was it worked. Yes paranoia still strikes me, but it makes me more aware of my surroundings at night. Being more aware of my surroundings gave me a better sense of how to protect my house. Better protecting the house at night means a safer place for my wife and two pups. In time it will make our home safe for our kids.

Now you’re thinking, cute story but what does that have to do with my fears? Think of your worse fear that can bug you almost everyday or night. If it’s public speaking, fear of rejection, etc. Use this to your advantage and own it! You can take that fear and work it. If it’s public speaking then start talking to a mirror and learn that you need to embrace it. Build it up for you and let the fear make you stronger. In time the fear will be nothing but a thing of the past.

By mastering your fear you will become not only a stronger person, but more confident with yourself. You’re every day will be better and no longer will you be shackled by your fears! It’s true when they say, “do something everyday that scares.” Own your fear and become a better person. In the end fear is nothing more then a secondary emotion.

Start conquering your fears in this Savage World that you are not just living in, but beginning to own!

About J F Savage
James Savage is a young business owner in the city of Lexington, Kentucky. In 2006, James earned his bachelor's degree in Communications from the University of Cincinnati. Two days after he graduated, James moved down to Lexington, KY as a business partner for Savage Syndications. Here we are years later and James is becoming a force in the business world. He is now CFO and partner of the company. Not many can do what he can do with list building and client relations. Also James was married to college sweet heart Alyssa in August 2008. The happy couple is working hard on making the house perfect and making sure the two puppies are always happy.

4 Responses to Your Fears and How to Own Them!

  1. Charity says:

    I like the idea of owning my fears; could you do a spin off on discussing an issue, like career development/status, with your boss? That is my current fear at the moment…I have no problem talking to my boss about football/cars/projects, but I am scared to breach the subject of career development since in recent months someone left the company and I am taking on the responsibility of a project manager, but I am not one….im suggesting a post about career development 🙂 thanks james

  2. J F Savage says:

    Of Course we can branch off about career development/status with your boss. Alyssa and I have this talk all the time. Of course, being my own boss I don’t fear telling my boss what I think. In fact, I never did. You have just be smart about it, find the right time to say hey Bob can we talk over lunch or just find some time to talk about some things? If he’s a good guy/girl then I am sure they are then open to talk.,

    Talk them up while you are in the meeting and the company. Yea it may sound like a brown noser, but if you truly like the company and want to grow, it’s a good thing to tell them. They can’t read your mind and if they know you want to improve and stay with the company long term. I don’t see how they could get upset. Tell the boss your goals and dreams with the company. Be open and honest about it. What is the worst that could happen. He says, “Not yet but in time we have a plan for you.” Or he could give you pink papers and make you lose your job.

    Though I doubt you will get the pink papers, because you asked about your future there. That would just make the company look awful. Also if you can’t grow in the company, why stay right? It would be a very big learning experience for you. Instead, just brave up and go okay boss lets talk. But time it right, make sure he/she is a good mood and have the time. Be open and honest with them, in the end they will respect you more.

    Let me know how it turns out.

  3. Arianne says:

    It helps to realize that not everyone is going to like you or what you have to say, but if you let that keep you from trying things you won’t ever get anywhere. You always have a 50/50 chance to do/say something that might make a difference in your life, take the chance…….what can it hurt?!

  4. J F Savage says:

    Arianne,

    It truly can’t hurt anything. Everyone hates rejection and looking stupid. Honestly 90% of the people you meet in public won’t remember you. If you don’t take the leap of faith how will you ever know the outcome. Taking the leap also allows you to bring closure to the topic. So what if they say no, better a no then a I don’t know. Once you get a no, it’s over and both parties can move on. Personally I like no’s, means I am closer to a yes.

    Take that Leap Arianne and Charity and own that subject!! Keep us posted on the outcomes!

Leave a Reply

