The Night of Champions

The Crowd

Now, I am not the biggest University of Kentucky fan, in fact I am probably the person you don’t want to talk to when it comes to their sports team. In fact 95% of the time, this guy right here can’t stand the fans and the team. A little background, if you don’t know, I live in the heart of Wildcat Nation in Lexington, KY.  Honestly, I can’t stand the UK fans or the school for the most part, just due to their cocky attitudes. Then last night happen and all the things that came with it.

As a resident of Lexington, KY, I will never be a University of Kentucky fan, but I will support my city.  Last night Lexington, had something to be proud of, their team won a National Title for them and is bringing it home. It was a great time for Lexington and really was a great show of emotion, heart, soul, etc for the team and city. It was when fans go bananas and some of them ruin it for others.

This past weekend and last night, Lexington had an explosive of people into the main campus bar area after every win. Would say 85% of these fans were just having a good time, cheering, celebrating, and enjoying the sweet taste of victory. The other 15% is what we are going to discuss today and is one of the major reason why I have an issue with this school.

This weekend when Kentucky beat cross-state rivals the University of Louisville, I got to hear and witness cars being set on fire, sofas being burned, beer bottles being thrown, etc. This was not the sign of good sportsmanship, in fact it put a giant stain on the city on how we act when we win. Then came last night, a car crashed into a bar patio, garage was caught on fire, cars on fire, shootings, etc. This again was a very nasty sight and the eyes of the nation saw it.

Yes, I know that was a small percent of people doing the bad deeds, but people look for the bad and the not the good sadly. To defend the city a little, there were a ton of people down there in the city who came out with families to enjoy the cheering and taking pictures with the riot police, who were happy for that. Those fans were the best sports, cheering, excited, and happy for their team. These are who I like to see when a team wins a title.

Sadly those good fans will be overshadowed by the few fans who found an excuse to destroy the city, because “their” team one. These fans are the reason why people will start to hate your team and town. They see the bad and not the good of your team. The question is how do you stop them? The answer, you really can’t.

Thing is, each cities fans will react differently when they win. In 2004, Red Sox fans cried and cheered after they won the world series. In 2002 Ohio State fans rioted after they beat Michigan in a regular season football game.  Every time the Yankees win, their fans cheer, scream and enjoy another victory. The world watches what we do when our team wins and every city is different.  Moment your city turns to rioting, fires, tear gas, etc. all the happy moments and good people are erased by the ugliness of your bad seeds.

Meaning of my post today is the only way to stop this view on your team is to be a good sport and fan. Be the fan that cheers, cries, gets excited, give out high fives, all that and don’t be the fan that turns to crime after your team wins a big game. Esp, now that Facebook is around, once you are video destroying a car, chances are you will get busted!!

In the end of the night after the trophy is handed out and your team is rewarded the prize, be a good sport. Don’t be a menace to your fan base, have pride in your team and yourself. There is no need to riot, just enjoy happy times with your friends and fellow fans.

Being a good fan is key in this Savage World; that you are no longer just living in, but beginning to own!

About J F Savage
James Savage is a young business owner in the city of Lexington, Kentucky. In 2006, James earned his bachelor's degree in Communications from the University of Cincinnati. Two days after he graduated, James moved down to Lexington, KY as a business partner for Savage Syndications. Here we are years later and James is becoming a force in the business world. He is now CFO and partner of the company. Not many can do what he can do with list building and client relations. Also James was married to college sweet heart Alyssa in August 2008. The happy couple is working hard on making the house perfect and making sure the two puppies are always happy.

8 Responses to The Night of Champions

  1. Pretty part of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to claim that I acquire actually loved account your blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing on your augment and even I achievement you get entry to consistently rapidly.

  2. Hello there, You’ve done an excellent job. I’ll certainly digg it and individually suggest to my friends. I am sure they will be benefited from this web site.

  3. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in truth was a entertainment account it. Glance advanced to more brought agreeable from you! By the way, how could we keep up a correspondence?

  4. Very great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to mention that I have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing in your feed and I’m hoping you write once more soon!

  5. CoQ-10 says:

    Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I in finding It truly helpful & it helped me out a lot. I’m hoping to present something again and help others such as you helped me.

  6. Hello, I just had to make you aware that I believe your short article is definitely above average. I desire to see a lot more content and other material, just like the one I viewed at this blog site again. –Sincerely, Martha

  7. Click Here says:

    Hi! This post could not be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this page to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  8. It’s really a cool and helpful piece of information. I am glad that you shared this useful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

